Guidebooks-A-Go-Go!


So, my research into solo travelling has begun, I am getting far too excited and ancy and just wishing it was time for me to go already but even if it was time for the epic journey to begin, I wouldn’t be anywhere near ready.

That’s where research comes into play. GUIDEBOOKS. Yaaaaay! *Inner happiness just in overload.* I decided the other day that even though I don’t have a lot of money this month, as I have put my first chunk of travel £ into my savings (now talk about Tigerblood and being a Winner, Charlie Sheen! *Proud*), I am treating myself to some bargainous guidebooks on Amazon.

My first choice was:

And I am soooo excited to receive it. It seemed to make a lot of sense to start getting books geared towards solo-travelling women (or GoGo Girls as I like to call us). Now naturally this book is going to take me a while to digest but I just felt from looking at the contents it would really get my mouth watering.

The contents include:

  • First things first – Getting your pack, What To Pack, what to leave behind (Fear).
  • Sleeping with Strangers – Hotel or Hostel? Choose your bed? Avoiding sleep-interrupting behaviours.
  • Eating
  • Keeping Clean
  • Health
  • The Scary Stuff – Keeping yourself/stuff safe
  • Planes, Trains and Automobiles
  • International Relations
  • Shopping
  • Communication Methods
  • Entertainment abroad

The Author, Chelsea Dukes gives her top 5 tips for backpacking in the video below (I like the Marmite idea – BTW I’m a lover, but kinda fearful of using a compass :/).

My second guidebook of choice was:

I bought this for my bestie for her birthday and I had a sneaky peek at it. I loved the tone of it and I remember reading a few little bits that really stuck with me. So a copy of my own of course was required. Also I did find myself just besotted with the front cover – it just made me really excited. I mean putting ‘A trip planner for the ULTIMATE journey’ and yes I am swooned. I can feel my heart racing. I’m a sucker for a good front cover (obviously the Chelsea’s book also won in this department, as well as her fun title of course).

The content of this book includes:

  • 24 things to enrich your journey.
  • The Ultimate Journey – how to plan, benefits of travelling alone and with others (I liked that part), culture shock, money, work abroad, when you arrive…
  • Regional profiles (an excellent pro-point of this book I felt).
  • Directory of transport, tourism, money, accomodation, travel advisory (perfect for getting all the help at your fingertips.)

I have found many other great books, but to start with these are my top 2. I am then going to focus a lot of my reading towards solo-women orientated guidebooks. I’m very keen to buy: 

Also, there is naturally a plethora of women-orientated travel websites, so many which offer some really great information. I found this was a very good snippet from womentraveltips.com:

http://www.womentraveltips.com/tips7.shtml

Reassuringly all these websites emphasise that while you may start your trip solo, you won’t be for long. You will meet so many interesting people and of course many other travellers. I cannot WAIT to meet you guys. I love reassuring websites.

I will continue to find and feature these sites as I continue my research.

NEW FUN ADDED GoGo FEATURE!!!

I’ve started a GoGo playlist and as part of a new feature I’d like to share it with you. Every week I will post a tune from the songs that just gets my travel-geared heart racing and hopefully yours too.

Today I cannot stop thinking about how much this song makes me wanna hit the road…Enjoy my GoGo lovelies.

About gohemians

I'm Emma, I'm 29 and I am a Gohemian. I am fueled by my passion to travel all over the world and to help others reach their dreamy, sparkly goals (no matter how scary they are). GohemianTravellers celebrates ambition, personal development and happiness and offers bucket loads of advice to travellers and quarter-life crisis survivors (just like me)! Life is all about the GoGo! So let's GO!
This entry was posted in Guidebooks, Hotels, Travel and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Guidebooks-A-Go-Go!

  1. Pingback: How on Earth?!…(organising world travel and the rest) Part One | gohemiantravellers

Leave a Reply

