…My Cup Of Tea


Mr T Tea Set A Team

That is what Travel is to me. It’s what floats my boat, flips my pancake and flies my flag. I’m truly obsessed. In booking this around-the-world trip, I feel the accomplishment will absolutely make me feel ‘complete’ (to an extent). It’s that feeling that I’m striving for. While at the same time I don’t ever want to be fully ‘complete’, I want to carry on, to continuously search and be adventuring through life.

Some people have said in reference to my trip that it is something I am ‘going to get out of my system’. I really don’t see that being the case. I think a big trip like this, is a one-off kinda thing but that doesn’t mean I want my travelbug to be cured. I want to then venture to the places I missed on my first route, so I can start a brand new one.

A fair few people have said to me ‘oh but after that you’ll be wanting to settle’ and I agree I will want to stay put for a bit and relax, but I hate the word ‘settle’. Despise it in fact. For me it denotes ‘settling for something’ and to me that is the worst thing in the world.

Why should you settle for anything, if it’s not what you want? I believe in terms of relationships – it shouldn’t be about ‘settling’, it should be about keeping it lively, surely? And I think travelling in a couple is awesome. So why should it stop? You don’t necessarily have to uproot yourselves for a year or anything, but just make the effort to save for awesome trips together.

Kissing Couple In Every City Postsecret

I think if you’re thinking along the same line as me, it does mean you may have different thinkings to some of your friends/family but it doesn’t mean it’s a bad thing. If it’s your dream to do something, then really strive to do it. Think about how great you will feel afterwards.

You will stroll into your old house afterwards and relax into your home comforts, knowing ‘hey I did it! And I feel great for it!’. Just think of the stories you’ll be able to tell, the pictures you’ll be able to show and friendships you will have made. And don’t forget how streetwise you will have learned to be. You could go to any city in the world and think ‘hey it’s okay, I made my way through (fill the name), I can go anywhere.’

It’s a scary thing, doing something you’ve always wanted to, but it’s that element of risk which makes it so exciting and which will definitely make the reward SO worth it.

Heart Balloons To Carry You

Let Your Heart Carry You

About gohemians

I'm Emma, I'm 29 and I am a Gohemian. I am fueled by my passion to travel all over the world and to help others reach their dreamy, sparkly goals (no matter how scary they are). GohemianTravellers celebrates ambition, personal development and happiness and offers bucket loads of advice to travellers and quarter-life crisis survivors (just like me)! Life is all about the GoGo! So let's GO!
This entry was posted in Advice, Inspiration, Travel and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to …My Cup Of Tea

  1. Really enjoyed reading your blog. Have you ever read about the hero’s journey. The way you describe your feeling about going away, the mixture of the scary and the excitement knowing that you’re going beyond the world that is familiar to you. Settling, is the opposite of this. It’s about safety and familiarity. I took my first big leap like this when I was 21 – got a ticket to Nepal and went to Everest then India. I came home, but the journey still continued, because really its about the learning and growth, and exploration is fundamental to this. Have a great trip. Know that the universe will give you exactly what you need along the way – teachers and guides, tests, and gifts beyond your wildest dreams.

  2. hotelswelove says:

    Love the concept of ‘gohemians!’

  3. gohemians says:

    Thank you so much for the comments.
    To be a Gohemian is definitely proving quite the life-changing feat. I love it. It’s definitely something to be tried out.
    James, you’re comments are so true and are so reassuring to hear from someone who has done it/is still doing it. Thank you, I really appreciate it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

