Skin Deep


I love the sun. But the sun, sure as hell, doesn’t love me. Being the pale ghostly girl that I am, I have forever been fighting a losing battle with our favourite star.

Hippy Girl Sunflower Field 60s

Summer love but whatever you do Emma, dont touch the flowers!

Since I was a kid, all I remember about summer days was being covered in huge blotches of pink spots and how antihistamines became my best friends. Because somehow, whenever I put my hands anywhere near grass, by the end of the day they’re covered in an annoying rash. It drives me crazy. Even if I don’t go near grass I still get a heat rash. Gah. Just can’t win!

So, as I spent Sunday afternoon sitting in front of Westminster Abbey, this week I am popping antihistamines like candy to get rid of these damn spots on my hands. Grrrr.

This got me thinking – I’m going to have to start these bloomin’ tablets months before my trip, to stop this happening. What I really need is an antithistamine injection (along with all the other’s I’ll have to have), but alas I don’t think that even exists for minor allergies. If you know differently please advise 😉

Ah well red spots to add to my freckles – makes me all the more different I guess. Kinda like Mr Blobby but hey-oh, c’est la vie!

Mr Blobby

I used to be very ashamed of having freckles actually, so much so I used to try and cover each one individually with concealer. Now, luckily, I’ve just accepted freckles are part of who I am. A real-life freckle monster 😉 

My adorable friend Spasija made me realise they are actually quite an endearing feature to have (god bless you honeybee). I think after all the sun exposure I’m going to get on my trip, I may just turn into one giant freckle. To be honest, I’m quite excited about how different it’s going to make me look. I think more prominent freckles are pretty cute – don’t you think?

freckled girl readhead

Although, as cute as freckles may be, they are a result of skin damage, so believe me when I say I will be throwing buckets of suncream over these blue bones. I got the whole trying-to-get-a-tan-as-a-redhead thing outta my system when I was younger – by learning the hard way. After sunstroke and some very ouchy burns on family holidays I learnt I’m just not meant to fry myself out in the sun (I have to be very careful I know).

Well Mamma always said I was a delicate English rose…but maybe (and more truthfully) I’m just a ghostly but sensible gal.

I love you sunshine, keep shining (**but thank goodness for my trusty tablets**) 😀

Phew. Fret not redheads and fellow allergens (hehe) we can still do it! Get out there and Go Go!

About gohemians

I'm Emma, I'm 29 and I am a Gohemian. I am fueled by my passion to travel all over the world and to help others reach their dreamy, sparkly goals (no matter how scary they are). GohemianTravellers celebrates ambition, personal development and happiness and offers bucket loads of advice to travellers and quarter-life crisis survivors (just like me)! Life is all about the GoGo! So let's GO!
This entry was posted in Advice, Beauty, Health, Travel and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Skin Deep

  1. Pingback: everything glamorous – May 11, 2011 « Miso Glamorous Beauty Blog

  2. Pingback: everything glamorous – July 2, 2011 | Miso Glamorous Beauty Blog

  3. Pingback: everything glamorous – August 12, 2011 | Miso Glamorous Beauty Blog

Leave a Reply

