With a Backpack on and a Bow in Your Hair


femininetravelkit

Packing with added femininity

Okay, so we all know wandering around airports with a humongous backpack on your back is not the most glamorous of looks. No no. But when it’s gotta be done, you can still be a glamazon jetsetter, I promise! Where there’s a will to look feminine and pin-up fabulous, there is a way.

I may not have embarked yet but I have given this subject lots of thought. I certainly need some femininity in my pack to feel like me, so here are my packing tips:

  • Pack Bare Minerals make-up (the foundation lasts forever, you don’t need much of it, it’s compact and it covers blemishes/tired eyes and even sunburn really well).
  • Put in a cheap mascara (it’s true – this may melt/evapourate in the heat, but if you need it, like I do, to perk you up to full femme-fatale status, at least it’s just cheap and can be replaced).
  • Don’t forget a hair accessory that you love. Your hair could just be scraped into a ponytail for ease, but add a bow/flower/headband/ribbon to it, you will feel that little bit more backpacker-chic.

    sanfranciscoflowersinhair

    Flowers in my hair in San Francisco

  • Chelsea Duke assures her readers in my fave book, High Heels & a Head Torch, that we should all invest in a pair of sparkly flip-flops – they will instantly feminise any outfit and they are damn practical (wear them in showers, when visiting temples for easy-removal etc etc).
  • Take a pair of cheap statement sunglasses. I got my fave mint-green vintage-style ones from Primark for £1. Doesn’t hurt the bank/matter too much if you loose them but they are super chic and awesome and you will feel very much in-Vogue at all times.

    sunbathesunglasses

    Good old Primark for sunglasses!

  • Vaseline will repair any dry skin, will help with sunburn and doubles as a lip-gloss – so don’t forget it! 🙂
  • Go for a pencil eyeliner over a liquid one (and don’t forget your sharpener). I’m going to try and master using a pencil for upper eyeliner, before I go. I’ll let you know how it goes 😉
  • Take a nice sarong, you will use it on the beach, to cover your arms in temples, as a towel if you get caught without one, you can even fashion it into a top/dress…handy handy.

  • Take the smallest eyeshadow pallette you can find, containing different colours – and brighten yourself up on those tired days.
  • Take bikinis over bras – you’ll get multiple use out of them, in and out of the water. (Normally I would pack a tonne of different cute bras on holiday – strapless/normal/red/pink/blue – but in this case you have to improvise and luckily bikinis, nowadays, are just as cute and feminine as your undies). So take your favourites! 🙂

    50sadvertisementbras

    Leave 'em behind ladies...photo c/o an-gelatin.tumblr.com

Also, leave at home:

  • Blusher/bronzer – You will have a tan/new freckles/a natural healthy blush – so it’s not required.
  • Lipstick (will melt) but if you really wanted to pack one, make sure it’s a cheapo one, that you don’t mind throwing away.
  • Your fave designer things (it’s just asking for trouble), if you loose it and it will really upset you – leave it at home!

Tell me what makes you feel oh-so-femme on the road and please send your packing tips via the usual routes:

http://facebook.com/gohemiantravellers, emma.r.black@hotmail.co.uk, .

Love and backpacks Em xoxo

About gohemians

I'm Emma, I'm 29 and I am a Gohemian. I am fueled by my passion to travel all over the world and to help others reach their dreamy, sparkly goals (no matter how scary they are). GohemianTravellers celebrates ambition, personal development and happiness and offers bucket loads of advice to travellers and quarter-life crisis survivors (just like me)! Life is all about the GoGo! So let's GO!
This entry was posted in Advice, Beauty, Fashion, Inspiration and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to With a Backpack on and a Bow in Your Hair

  1. Tracey says:

    Great tips babe! making me excited for september! Def need the vaseline tip now, its so dry here! I love ur bikini in ur sunnies pic as well! U are def the most glam traveler I know! Inspiring me to look good during mine!! xx

Leave a Reply

